McEowen, Babb recognized as December Peer Award recipients

Cindy Steury and David McEowen, Huntington UniversityHuntington, Ind. — The Huntington University Peer Award recipients for December were David McEowen, associate professor of business, and Julie Babb, assistant director for creative services.

The Peer Award, which began in 2003, promotes acknowledgement and recognition of the outstanding efforts of Huntington University faculty and staff members. Award winners are chosen and recognized each month by fellow peers.

Jason Boothman and Julie Babb, Huntington UniversityMcEowen was recognized by Dr. Cindy Steury, assistant dean for faculty development and professor of education, who said that McEowen is an excellent teacher who helps his business students “develop knowledge and wisdom that will serve them well in the business world.”

“Dave quietly and competently serves in key roles in the institution,” Steury said. “I admire his steadfast model of professionalism and his commitment to doing all things well.”

Babb was recognized by Jason Boothman, arts computer classroom/lab manager, for her work ethic and her excellence in her work.

“‘Getting the job done’ just isn’t good enough (for Julie). Huntington University is truly blessed to have someone with this mindset, in every project, designing what the public sees of Huntington University,” he said.
Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. U.S. News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest, and has listed the university as one of America’s Best Colleges. Additionally, Princeton Review has named the institution to its “Best in the Midwest” list. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington University is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. The university is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU).  


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director