Men 4th, women 5th in MCC

 The Mid-Central Conference Track and Field Championships were held at Goshen College with the Forester men finishing fourth while the women were fifth.

For the men, HU's Dan Lindbloom grabbed first place in the 3000 meter steeplechase with a time of 9:29.55. His win also earned him a spot on the MCC All-Conference team. Lindbloom added a second place finish in the 5000 meter run with his time of 15:32.61. Joseph Njeri was second in the 10,000 meter run with a time of 32:55.02 with Nick Johnson behind him in third in 33:17.41. Luke Diehl ran a 9:47.51 in the 3000 meter steeplechase for a third place finish.

Indiana Wesleyan won the men's championship with a score of 201.50 followed by Bethel (174.50), Taylor (173), HU (63), Goshen (59.50), St. Francis (57), Marian (49.50), Spring Arbor (38) and Grace (1).

In women's action, Bethany McGraw placed in five events earning 35 of the Foresters’ 65 team points in the meet. Her winning leap of 17-11.75 in the long jump earned her MCC All-Conference honors as well as qualified her to compete in the NAIA Outdoor Track and Field National Championships in May. She was second in the 200 meter dash with a time of 27.01. In the triple jump, she had a mark of 35-11.50, which was good for a third place finish and she was fourth in the 100 meter dash with a time of 13.04. McGraw also ran a leg of the women's 4x400 relay that placed third in 4:09.41.

Lauren Davenport was the other winner for HU. She posted the winning time of 59.34 in the 400 meter dash and joined Lindbloom and McGraw on the MCC All-Conference team. Davenport also finished third in the 400 meter hurdles in 1:05.85 and ran a leg of the third place women's 4x400 relay. Jill Roughia was the only other top three finisher. She took second in the 3000 meter steeplechase with a time of 12:18.36.

Bethel claimed the women's team title with a score of 217 followed by Indiana Wesleyan (187), Goshen (92), Marian (78.50), HU (65), Grace (53), Spring Arbor (50), Taylor (45.50) and St. Francis (30).



Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director