Three Foresters earn Regional honors

 The NAIA has announced its Region VIII baseball and softball awards for the spring 2008 season. Two Huntington University Foresters received All-Region honors and one was listed on the Gold Glove Team.

Senior Alex Rinearson was the third base selection on the baseball All-Region Team. He hit .329 for the season and tied for the team lead in homeruns with seven. Junior Lauren Ward was one of the top pitchers in the region. She posted a 1.47 ERA and struck out 161 in 162 innings pitched. Senior Austan Kas earned his second consecutive Regional Gold Glove award which goes to the region's top fielder by position. Kas committed just four errors in 46 games for a .978 fielding percentage.

Indiana Wesleyan pitcher Brandon Moore was named the Region VIII baseball Player of the Year and Madonna's Greg Haeger was the Coach of the Year.

Other baseball All-Region team members included catchers Eric Vojkofsky (Spring Arbor) and Will Richards (Indiana Tech), first baseman Kevin Zerbo (Madonna), second baseman Aaron Hacias (Concordia), shortstop Levi Cheshire (Madonna), utility infielder Jim Baker (Spring Arbor), outfielders Reid Spitaels (Bethel), Alex Hoover (Concordia), Travis Potchka (St. Francis) and Mike Sepesy (Siena Heights), pitchers Will Kennedy (Madonna), Jesse Bachman (Spring Arbor) and Justin Gouthier (Concordia), relief pitcher John McCracken (Madonna) and designated hitter Taylor Futterknecht.

Joining Kas on the Gold Glove Team was first baseman Jarrod Wehri (St. Francis), third baseman Michael Kraynak (Taylor), shortstop Tony Pounders (Concordia), catcher Josh Gerald (Marian), pitcher Jesse Bachman (Spring Arbor) and outfielders Mark Pauwles (Siena Heights), Mike Sepesy (Siena Heights) and Brent Serba (Aquinas).

In softball, Bethel duplicated the conference sweep of the individual honors with Katie Boocher being named Player of the Year, Brittney Hire, Pitcher of the Year and Anna Welsh, Coach of the Year.

Other members included Jess Irwin (Madonna), Ashley Aspinall (Aquinas), Sarah Rassi (Bethel), Jessica Williams (Indiana Tech), Christi Church (Indiana Wesleyan), Emily Brown (Cornerstone), Brittney Fisher (Bethel), Cat Sidor (Madonna), Taylor Janus (Dearborn), Courtney Miles (Aquinas), Jessica Slayton (Marian), Autumn Palik (Spring Arbor), Stephanie Miller (Dearborn), Lindsay Arnold (Taylor) and Jenn Anderson (Indiana Tech).


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director