10 HU athletes inducted into Chi Alpha Sigma honor society

HUNTINGTON, Ind.— Ten Huntington University students-athletes have been inducted into the Chi Alpha Sigma honor society for 2012. This national college athlete honor society recognizes student-athletes who excel in athletics and academics.

Membership in Chi Alpha Sigma is given to those who display excellent character and citizenship, an outstanding scholarship of a 3.5 cumulative grade point average or higher, an earned varsity letter and a junior or senior academic standing.

The following Huntington University student-athletes were inducted during Forester Night on May 1:

Rachel Bayon, a junior nursing major from Indianpolis, Ind., for track.

Isaac Beal, a senior math major from Greenfield, Ind., for soccer.

Jamon Hammel, a senior accounting major from Andrews, Ind., for baseball.

Michelle Hawthorne, a junior nursing major from Brooklyn, Mich., for soccer.

Alyssa Krause, a junior physical education major from Waseca, Minn., for soccer.

Joshua Lanphier, a junior broadcasting major from Cincinnati, Ohio, for baseball.

Derek Ressler, a junior applied exercise science major from Apple Creek, Ohio, for soccer.

Aleksandra Spasic, a junior economics and finance major from Vranje, Serbia, for tennis.

Lance Wood, a senior entrepreneurial small business management and business management from Waterville, Ohio for cross country and track.

Heidi Zeman, a senior psychology major from Beavercreek, Ohio, for soccer.
Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. U.S. News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest, and Forbes.com has listed the university as one of America’s Best Colleges. Additionally, Princeton Review has named the institution to its “Best in the Midwest” list. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington University is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. The university is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU).


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director