University names Campbell its Staff Member of Year

University names Campbell its Staff Member of Year 

Huntington, Ind.—Huntington University held its annual appreciation dinner for faculty and staff May 8. Many campus community members were recognized for their service to the university, while Gary Campbell was honored with the Staff Member of the Year award.

Campbell, the university’s director of technology services, was nominated by faculty and staff and chosen by the Senior Leadership Team as the Staff Member of the Year. He has served the university for six years and before receiving the award, President G. Blair Dowden, Ph.D., recognized him for his servant’s heart, his management skills, and his willingness to go above and beyond to meet the technical needs of the university.

Dr. Jerry Smith (right) is acknowledged with an individualized gift for 40 years of service presented to him by Dr. G. Blair Dowden.
Others recognized at the banquet included Dave McEowen, assistant professor of business, who was selected as the Professor of the Year by the student body. Students also honored Jeff Berggren, vice president of enrollment management and marketing, as Administrator of the Year, and Margaret Pasko, administrative assistant to the vice president for student development, as Staff Member of the Year.

Members of the campus community who have served for five years received a Huntington University pin. Those individuals included Cynthia Buff, Susan Frantz, Pete Schownir and Deidre Williams.

Plaques for ten years of service were presented to Dr. Jeff Lehman, Sandy Marion, Dr. Gary Newton, Dr. Terrell Peace, Dr. Mike Rowley, Polly Tribolet, Cindy Vezeau and Jan Yost. An engraved pen and pencil set for 15 years of service was given to Jeff Berggren, Dr. Beth Burch, Dr. Lance Clark, Rebecca Coffman, the Rev. Bill Fisher and John Paff.

Karol Caley, Martha Smith, Linda Taylor and Connie Updike were presented with an individualized gift for 20 years of service. For 25 years of service, Dr. Patricia Spedden, Dr. Cindy Steury and Anita Wickersham were given a desk clock. In addition, Sharon Custer and Dr. Jerry Smith were recognized for 35 years and 40 years of service, respectively, with an individualized gift.

Steve Platt, head coach of the men’s basketball team, was lauded upon his retirement for 13 years of service to the university with a resolution by the Board of Trustees and a chair with the Huntington University seal. 
Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. U.S.News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington University is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. The University is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU).  


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director