Perry named 2012 Staff Member of the Year

Click here to see photos from the Celebration of Service recognitions.
 Nate Perry, Huntington University, a Christian college 
Nate Perry
 Dr. Kent Eilers, Huntington University, a Christian college 
Dr. Kent Eilers

HUNTINGTON, Ind.— Nate Perry, director of undergraduate admissions, has been named Huntington University’s 2012 Staff Member of the Year. Earlier this month, Dr. Kent Eilers, assistant professor of theology, was named the 2012 Professor of the Year.

The Staff Member of the Year award, like the Professor of the Year award, recognizes outstanding service to the university.

Perry, who has been employed by the university for 12 years, was nominated by faculty and staff for the award and was selected by the university’s senior administrators. He was recognized for the award during the annual Celebration of Service banquet today, May 15.

In comments read by President G. Blair Dowden, colleagues said that Perry always desires to do what is best for the university.

“This staff member is always willing to help others, is constantly working to improve processes, and has an eye for detail that often goes unseen,” one person wrote.

Perry graduated from Huntington in 2000 with a degree in business management and a minor in marketing. In his position, he oversees the daily activities, strategic planning and marketing of the undergraduate recruitment office.


Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. U.S. News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest, and has listed the university as one of America’s Best Colleges. Additionally, Princeton Review has named the institution to its “Best in the Midwest” list. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington University is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. The university is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU).


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director