Music students recognized at state competition

HUNTINGTON, Ind. – Thirteen students represented Huntington University at the Indiana chapter of the National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS) annual competition on Nov. 2, hosted at DePauw University. The students were led by vocal instructor Professor Joni Killian. The accompanists for the student performances were Dr. Ji-Young Jeoung and Dr. Pamela Haynes, both of the HU music department.

Out of the 13 students representing HU, five placed in the top three in their respective divisions:

Jacob Smith, a senior music education major from Berne, Ind., took first place in the senior men division.

Brittany Blazier, a senior music education major from Ossian, Ind., took second place in the senior women division.

Ja’Shon Burks, a junior music education and Bible and religion-religious studies major from Indianapolis, took third place in the junior men division.

Osvaldo Gil, a sophomore music education major from Indianapolis, took second place in the sophomore men division.

Preston Shafer, a sophomore music education major from Huntington, Ind., took third place in the sophomore men division.

Other HU music students who attended are sophomore Megan Ness, sophomore Haley Glinz, freshman Amber Zangari, freshman Alex Witzig, freshman Taylor Lahr, freshman Alyssa Kissell, senior Audra Rittenhouse and sophomore Holly Stanley.
Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. U.S. News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest, and has listed the university as one of America’s Best Colleges. Additionally, Princeton Review has named the institution to its “Best in the Midwest” list. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington University is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. The university is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU).


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director