Huntington hosts high school math competition

Huntington, Ind.—On Oct. 21, Huntington University hosted 11 local area high schools for a mathematics competition. Teams from Adams Central of Monroe, Ind.; Ayersville of Defiance, Ohio; Bishop Luers High School of Fort Wayne, Ind.; Delta High School of Muncie, Ind.; Fishers High School and Hamilton Southeastern High School of Fishers, Ind.; Minster High School of Minster, Ohio; Saint Joseph’s High School and South Bend Clay High of South Bend, Ind.; Southwood High School of Wabash, Ind.; and West Noble High School of Ligonier, Ind., came to compete.

The competition consisted of three different rounds; a 20-question written exam, an individual speed round of 10 questions, and a team test of six questions. Correct answers on the first two rounds earn the students points towards their individual scores, and all three rounds add points to each school’s total. The top three students were first place: Bosi Zhang, a junior from Hamilton Southeastern High School with 190 points, second place: Harrison Zhao, a senior from Fishers High School with 180 points, and third place: Kathleen Hu, a senior from Fishers High School with 165 points. The top three teams were first place: Hamilton Southeastern High School with 675 points, second place: Fishers High School with 645 points, and third place: Saint Joseph’s High School with 575 points.

The goal of the Huntington University mathematics competition is to support and encourage the efforts of students seeking to achieve in mathematics.
Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. U.S.News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest. In 2008, listed the university as one of America’s Best Colleges. Additionally, Princeton Review named the institution to its “Best in the Midwest” 2009 list. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington University is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. The University is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU).


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director