Creative minds of the future plan for today at Youth Entrepreneur Symposium

Steve Franks, Cassandra Abbott, Tyke Clore, Gretchen PeGan and Matthew Whitacre, Huntington UniversityHuntington, Ind. — On Oct. 19, Huntington University hosted the fourth annual Youth Entrepreneur Symposium. Sophomores, juniors and seniors from Huntington North High School participated in the day-long event.

Students were divided into 12 groups and experienced firsthand how to invent a new application for Facebook, iPod, iPhone or Android. Ideas from the sessions included iLocate, Auto Fixer and Coup-it.
Aaron Snyder, Crystal Waters, Kyle Godfroy, Quinton Flora, and Steve Franks, Huntington University
After creating their product concept, the students were challenged to expand their products into a business concept. Each group determined what the product was, how it was different from other products, how the product would make money, who the customers were, how customers would use the product, and finally, where and how the product would be sold. The top five groups presented their products to the judges with their peers as the audience.
Phillip Truitt, Connor Brown, John Lofgren, Austin Shipley, and Steve Franks, Huntington University
The winning business concept was Coup-it which sends coupons to your mobile phone. The team members were Cassandra Abbott, Tyke Clore, Gretchen PeGan and Matthew Whitacre.

The second place business concept was called Auto Fixer. Their concept was detecting what was wrong with your vehicle and then giving you the location of the closest repair shop. Team Auto Fixer presenting, Huntington UniversityTheir team consisted Aaron Snyder, Crystal Waters, Kyle Godfroy and Quinton Flora.

The third place team’s concept was iLocate. It was a software program which combined social networking with geo-mapping where friends would rate places and the mapping system would tell you where they are. Team members included Phillip Truitt, Connor Brown, John Lofgren and Austin Shipley.

Honorable Mention was given to two additional teams. iControl’s business concept was to create a software package that could manage appliances throughout your home when you were gone. Team members were Tyler Blocker, Heaston Schwob, Andrew Sizemore and Michael Ness. Budget Extraordinaire was also given honorable mention. Team members were Brittany Arquette, Tory Couch, Allison Rittenhouse and Ethan Saunders. Budget Extraordinaire allowed you to manage your finances in the palm of your hand.
Team Budget Extraordinaire presenting, Huntington University
The “Most Creative Business Concept” award was given to Halo Gaming. Halo Gaming took popular board games such as Candy Land and Battleship and turned them in to holographic games. Team members were Brandon Wagers, Alex Sereno, Levi Lawson, Rachel Hareld and Emily Harrell.

Team iControl presenting, Huntington UniversitySteve Franks of the Northeast Indiana Innovation Center was the facilitator for the day.

Judges were:

Wil Kline, business banker, PNC Bank
Team iLocate presenting, Huntington University
Darlene Stanley, president, Johnson Junction

Dave McEowen, associate professor of business, Huntington University

Mark Wickersham, executive director, Huntington County Economic Development

Students from the Huntington University business department served as assistants for the day. They include:

Mark Wiley, Huntington, Ind.

Matt Souers, Fort Wayne, Ind.

Christen Melvin, Columbia City, Ind.

Katrina Helmer, Noblesville, Ind.

Rob Hahn, Whitehouse, Ohio

Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. U.S. News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest, and has listed the university as one of America’s Best Colleges. Additionally, Princeton Review has named the institution to its “Best in the Midwest” list. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington University is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. The university is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU).


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director