College awards 55 Presidential Scholarships

Huntington, Ind.—Fifty-five individuals were recently awarded a Presidential Scholarship of $7,000 during the fourth annual Huntington College Presidential Scholar Celebration Day on February 11, 2005. In addition, 27 of those students received a Colloquium Scholarship of $1,500. The Presidential and Colloquium Scholarships at Huntington College are the highest honors bestowed on an incoming student and can follow the student through his or her academic years at Huntington.

Academic criteria for the Presidential award entails a 3.6 grade point average (GPA) and either a 1250 SAT or 28 ACT score. The Colloquium Scholarship is then awarded to students who acquire a 1320 SAT or 31 ACT.

The Celebration Day allowed the scholars and their families the opportunity to hear more about what is offered at Huntington for high achieving students from a number of sources within their chosen academic divisions. Current Presidential Scholar students, recent alumni, faculty and staff members offered insights to the high academic programs and enriching student life that Huntington College offers. During the Presidential Scholar Luncheon, each recipient was introduced and recognized with a certificate presented by Dr. Norris Friesen, vice president and dean of the College. The following scholars were named Presidential Scholars and will receive a scholarship of $7,000 (* denotes individuals who received the additional Colloquium Scholarship).

Mary Anne Alanoly from Farmington Hill, Mich.
Abigail Allwein from Fort Wayne, Ind.
*Keri Badenhop from Archibold, Ohio
Spencer Batt from New Haven, Ind.
*Sasha Bayba from Silver Creek, N.Y.
Jenaya Bonner from Roanoke, Ind.
Ryan Bonner from Liberty Center, Ohio
*Kyle Bowman from LaFontaine, Ind.
*Jake Bragg from Marion, Ind.
Kevin Byrd from Fort Wayne, Ind.
*Josh Cauhorn from Avilla, Ind.
*Angie Conroy from Yoder, Ind.
Brad Cripps from Grimsby, Ontario
Karisa Donaldson from Peru, Ind.
*Bridger Fetters from Huntington, Ind.
Trevor Gremauz from New Haven, Ind.
*Dawn Heckman from Decatur, Ind.
*Nathan Hollister from Kendallville, Ind.
Liz Huber from Dimondale, Mich.
Jon Michael Huffman from Traverse City, Mich.
Katie Hursey from Columbia City, Ind.
*Justin Jones from Fort Wayne, Ind.
*Kevin Keller from Strasburg, Pa.
*Austin Kline from Huntington, Ind.
Michael Lehman from Berne, Ind.
*Joel Liechty from Kendallville, Ind.
Alex Lute from Lansing, Ill.
Allie Meriwether from Paulding, Ohio
*Ruth Moorman from South Bend, Ind.
*Hannah Morris from Terre Haute, Ind.
*Andrew Morton from Auburn, Ind.
*Andrew Neel from Hartford City, Ind.
*Luke Nimtz from Cromwell, Ind.
Jessica O’Conner from New Paris, Ind.
*Kyle Pfister from Bluffton, Ind.
Stephanie Ping from Huntington, Ind.
David Radcliffe from Menasha, Wis.
Kayla Reish from Craigville, Ind.
Nicolle Sackman from Mansfield, Ohio
Jacob Schmidt from West Lafayette, Ind.
Daniel Schroeder from Rockford, Ill.
*Lisa Shepherdson from Marietta, Ga.
Stephanie Smith from Fort Wayne, Ind.
*Mark Stonitsch from Minooka, Ill.
*Chris Sutton from Huntertown, Ind.
Heather Tews from Dimondale, Mich.
*Brian Thompson from Maplewood, Minn.
Erin Troyer from Findlay, Ohio
*Hannah Tucker from New Concord, Ohio
John Whirledge from Millersburg, Ind.
Adam Widener from Whiteland, Ind.
*Amber Willard from Chesterton, Ind.
*Leah Winger from South Whitley, Ind.
*Kyla Zartman from New Paris, Ind.

 Huntington College is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. Following a decade of growth and development, Huntington College will become Huntington University in mid-2005. U.S.News & World Report ranks Huntington among the top comprehensive colleges in the Midwest. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington College is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. Huntington is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU) and was named one of the 50 best Christian places to work by Christianity Today magazine.


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director