Presidential Scholars earn prestigious award

Sixty incoming freshman awarded distinguished scholarship
Huntington, Ind.—Sixty high school seniors were welcomed onto the Huntington College campus Friday, February 15, to be honored with the most prestigious academic award at Huntington College. Each individual was awarded a Presidential Scholarship of $5,000 on the first annual Presidential Scholar Celebration Day. The Presidential Scholarship at Huntington College is the highest honor bestowed on an incoming student and can follow the student through his/her academic years at HC.

Academic criteria for the distinguished award entailed a 3.6 grade point average (GPA) and a 1250 SAT or 28 ACT. The 2002-03 Presidential Scholar students at HC represented 10 states and one foreign country. Together, they average a 3.93 GPA on a 4.0 scale. Twenty-three of the Scholars have achieved at least a 30 ACT or 1320 SAT score with the highest actual scores of any Scholar consisting of a 32 ACT and 1470 SAT.

The Celebration Day allowed the Scholars and their families the opportunity to hear more about what is offered at HC for high-achieving students from a number of sources within their chosen academic divisions. Current Presidential Scholar students, recent alumni and parents of current Scholars offered insights to the high academic programs and enriching student life that Huntington College offers. During the Presidential Scholar Luncheon, each recipient was introduced and recognized with a certificate presented by President G. Blair Dowden and Academic Dean, Ron Webb.

Huntington College is comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 50 academic concentrations. US News and World Report ranks Huntington among the best in the Midwest. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington College is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in Huntington, Indiana.

The following are the 2002-03 Huntington College Presidential Scholars:
· Rebekah Bachman of Columbus, Mich
· Stephen Boston of Bridgman, Michigan
· Laura Brautigam of Westfield, New York
· Erin Buehrer of Archbold, Ohio
· Jeremy Burkett of Huntington, Indiana
· Katrina Carlson of East Troy, Wisconsin
· Amy Cates of Sweester, Indiana
· Amy Cherry of Brooklyn, Michigan
· Jill Clements of Lynn, Indiana
· Amanda Cline of Beaver Falls, Pa.
· Amanda Cowell of Coloma, Michigan
· Brandon Curtis of Plymouth, Indiana
· Ryan Darr of Adrian, Michigan
· Josh Dawes of Leesburg, Indiana
· Nathan Dreisbach of Fostoria, Ohio
· Emily Enders of Cromwell, Indiana
· Daniel Fisher of Lowell, Indiana
· Christiana Fox of Beaver Falls, Pa.
· Kara Fultz of Angola, Indiana
· Chelsea Gensic of Columbia City, Ind.
· Brett Giggy of Andrews, Indiana
· Tara Gillaspie of East Troy, Wisconsin
· Ashley Gonterman of Roanoke, Indiana
· Courtney Gullickson of Overland Park, Kan.
· Daniel Hale of Losantville, Indiana
· Jillian Herr of Mansfield, Ohio
· Robyn Hinkle of Edon, Ohio
· Stephanie Hoekenga of Wheaton, Illinois
· Joel Kennedy of Huntington, Indiana
· Seth Kimmel of Huntington, Indiana
· Kevin Krauskopf of Fremont, Indiana
· Anna Lee of Noblesville, Indiana
· Ashleigh Lewis of Bloomington, Illinois
· Andrew Ley of Huntington, Indiana
· Michael Liechty of Kendallville, Indiana
· Stacey Maifeld of Fort Wayne, Indiana
· Chris McKay of Fort Wayne, Indiana
· Aubree Meeker of Robbins, Iowa
· Marie Menninga of Belleville, Illinois
· Caroline Nelson of Fort Wayne, Indiana
· Christine Nelson of Spencerville, Ohio
· Kendra Nelson of Fort Wayne, Indiana
· Rebekah Nimtz of Cromwell, Indiana
· Emily Padilla of Muncie, Indiana
· Carla Sue Palacio of Decatur, Indiana
· Chad Pryor of Sheridan, Indiana
· Jennifer Punt of Middleville, Michigan
· Jason Read of Fort Wayne, Indiana
· Lauren Rowe of Lowellville, Ohio
· Eryn Sawyer of Shullsburg, Wisconsin
· Christine Shook of Franklin, Indiana
· Miranda Sincler of Kalamazoo, Michigan
· Megan Smigasiewicz of Gurnee, Illinois
· Michael Snedeker of Newark, Ohio
· Jonathan Stotts of Angola, Indiana
· Allison Trulock of Fort Wayne, Indiana
· Sharon Voss of Villa Park, Illinois
· Jonathan Watts of Westford, Mass.
· Nathaniel Wood of Martinsville, Indiana
· Keri Zillmer of Fowlerville, Michigan

# # #


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director