HU just short of MCC title

Sixteen seconds was the difference between first and second place in the men's Mid-Central Conference Championship with Indiana Wesleyan edging the Foresters by a score of 39 to 41.

HU's top five runners each posted season best times to put the heat on the Wildcats. Joseph Njeri won the MCC Championship with a time of 25:50.87and Nick Johnson followed closely behind in second place with a time of 25:53.67. Dan Lindbloom ran a 26:23.11 to finish seventh. Luke Diehl crossed in 27:09.79 for 15th place and Tobias Sauter, running in his first race of the year, finished 16th with a time of 27:15.59.

"Joseph and Nick just had excellent races," said Coach King. "They ran out in front together the entire way." Njeri, Johnson and Lindbloom each earned MCC All-Conference honors by placing in the top 12 and Coach King was named the MCC Coach of the Year.

Other runners for HU were Michael Lehman (25th, 27:52.60), Luke Andrews (41st, 28:30.77), Nick Hindes (46th, 28:47.69), Josh Barnett (69th, 30:52.99) and Dave Boyer (77th, 32:09.42).

Following Indiana Wesleyan and HU in the final standings was Taylor (80), Goshen (113), Spring Arbor (125), Marian (164), Bethel (167) and Grace (222).

On the women's side, the Foresters finished eighth with a score of 219. Jill Roughia paced HU with a 25th place finish in 20:30.37. Michelle Kyler crossed in 21:35.29 for a 54th place finish. Bradie Vance was 68th in 22:24.01, Ali Shideler posted a 22:36.97 for 72nd place and Joanna Stebing was 83rd in 23:40.40.

Indiana Wesleyan University won the women's team title with a score of 34 followed by Spring Arbor (38), Taylor (96), Bethel (130), Grace (156), Marian (159), Goshen (161), HU (219) and St. Francis (239).


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director