Edgel, Ruiz recognized as May Peer Award recipients

May 2014 Edgel
Recipient Molly Edgel, left, with Danielle Shafer
May 2014 Ruiz
Recipient Dr. Matthew Ruiz, left, with Cindy Geders

HUNTINGTON, Ind. — The Huntington University Peer Award recipients for May are Molly Edgel, financial aid counselor, and Dr. Matthew Ruiz, associate professor of exercise science.

Edgel was recognized by Danielle Shafer, resident director of Hardy Hall, because of her ability to radiate joy to current and prospective students.

“Molly is a gift to this campus,” Shafer said. “Those that know Molly love being around her. Molly is intentional to invest in the lives of our students. She mentors three of my residents in Hardy Hall, and I’m so grateful for her involvement in their lives.”

Ruiz was recognized by Cindy Geders, administrative secretary to the president’s office, because of his program that gives faculty and staff members the opportunity to work with a senior exercise science major as a personal trainer.

“This program is making a tremendous difference in my life and those of my colleagues as we pursue healthier life choices,” Geders said. “Thank you, Matthew, for creating this win-win for the campus community and for helping faculty and staff to accomplish their personal best.”

The Peer Award, which began in 2003, promotes acknowledgment and recognition of the outstanding efforts of Huntington University faculty and staff members. Award winners are chosen and recognized each month by fellow peers.

Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. U.S. News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest, and Forbes.com has listed the university as one of America’s Best Colleges. Additionally, Princeton Review has named the institution to its “Best in the Midwest” list. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington University is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. The university is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU).


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director