Klinedinst, Krauskopf receive History Department Awards

Huntington, Ind.—The Huntington University Department of History presented awards to two of its students during the college’s annual Honors Convocation on Friday, February 3, 2006.

(Left to right) Associate Professor of History Dr. Jeffrey Webb, Richard Klinedinst, Professor of History Dr. Dwight Brautigam, and Distinguished Professor of History Dr. Paul Michelson (Click photo for higher resolution image)

The S. G. Whittle Johnston Memorial Award in History for 2006 has been presented to Mr. Richard Klinedinst, a senior history major from North Liberty, Ind., for his paper, “The Brethren Fundamentalist: Church of the Brethren and Fundamentalism, 1945-1952.” The paper is a well-crafted analysis of the influence of fundamentalist Church of the Brethren pastor Harold Snider, who in the immediate post World War II period founded and published a fundamentalist newspaper aimed at Brethren denominational members and seeking to convince them that the denomination was drifting away from its roots and becoming “modernist.” The paper offers an intriguing look at the stresses that appeared in the Church of the Brethren at a pivotal time in that denomination’s development, and demonstrates that Snider's appeals fell mostly on deaf ears despite his earnest writings.

The S. G. Whittle Johnston Memorial Award is an annual award established in 2003 by a Huntington University alumna and history major. The award honors the memory of the donor’s graduate school mentor, Dr. S.G. Whittle Johnston of the University of Virginia, who has since passed away. The award goes to the junior or senior history major who submits the most outstanding work of original scholarship to the History Department faculty. Mr. Klinedinst received a plaque and a cash award of $1000.


Kevin Krauskopf
The 2006 Jack P. Barlow, Sr., History Book Prize has been awarded to Mr. Richard Klinedinst, a senior history major from North Liberty, Ind., and Mr. Kevin Krauskopf, a senior history major from Huntington, Ind. The award recognizes outstanding achievement in each fall semester’s “Great Issues in European History” course. The winners received a plaque and $200 to be used for enhancing their personal libraries. The Barlow awards are funded by The Ron Frank Memorial Endowment in History, established under Prof. Barlow’s leadership in 1973. The Endowment honors the memory of Ron Frank, a Huntington University history major who passed away during the spring semester of his senior year.

Dr. Dwight Brautigam, History Department chairman, noted that “our department is very proud of each of these students. They have done consistently excellent work in our courses over their careers, and these awards are a small way of recognizing such outstanding students. It is our wish that these awards will help them further their academic pursuits as they seek to know even more of God's truth in the future. We are also grateful to generous alumni and friends of our department who have made these awards possible for our current students.”
Huntington University is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 70 academic concentrations. U.S.News & World Report ranks Huntington among the best colleges in the Midwest. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington University is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in northeast Indiana. The University is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU) and in 2004 was named one of the 50 best Christian places to work by Christianity Today magazine.  


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director