Peace honored with Distinguished Service Award

Huntington, Ind.— Dr. Terrell Peace, professor of education at Huntington College, was recently honored with the Curtis Osborn Award at The Indiana Unit of The Association of Teacher Educators (ATE).

The award is given to an individual with distinguished service for five or more years with the ATE. Since 1999, Dr. Peace has been a member of a number of ATE committees and is currently on the National Board of Directors. He is also currently on the State Board of Directors for the Indiana Unit of the ATE.

Before joining the Huntington College Education Department in 1998, Dr. Peace taught at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in Fort Worth, Texas, where he was an associate professor of education and chaired the Foundations of Education Department. In addition to university teaching, Dr. Peace has taught kindergarten through sixth grade math and science. He is a member of the national board of the Association of Teacher Educators. He is also co-author of The Teaching Ministry of the Church, published in 1995.

The Association of Teacher Educators was founded in 1920 and is the only national, individual membership organization devoted solely to the improvement of teacher education for both school and campus-based teacher educators. ATE members represent over 650 colleges and universities, 500 major school systems and the majority of the state departments of education. The ATE office is located in the Washington, DC area, where it represents its members' interests before governmental agencies and educational organizations. In addition, ATE has two voting seats on the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and has representation on the ERIC Clearinghouse on Teacher Education.

# # #

Huntington College is a comprehensive Christian college of the liberal arts offering graduate and undergraduate programs in more than 60 academic concentrations. Founded in 1897 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, Huntington College is located on a contemporary, lakeside campus in Huntington, Indiana. The College is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU).


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director