Huntington College Sophomore Honored

Brandy Swope is "Realizing the Dream" of a College Education

HUNTINGTON, IN OCTOBER 15, 1996 --- Brandy L. Swope, a sophomore at Huntington College, will be honored as an outstanding student who is the first in her family to attend college. Sponsored by Lilly Endowment Inc., the annual "Realizing the Dream" banquet will be held Saturday, October 19, 1996, at the Omni Indianapolis North Hotel, 8181 North Shadeland Avenue. A reception will begin at 6 p.m., followed by dinner and the keynote address at 7 p.m.

Miss Swope is an accounting major from North Webster, Indiana. A 1995 graduate of Wawasee High School, Brandy is the daughter of Rick and Shelia Swope.

Also to be honored are students from thirty-one other independent colleges and universities in Indiana.

Each college receives a $500 contribution to its general scholarship fund in the name of the first-generation student being honored. Huntington College will award the $500 scholarship to Miss Swope.

Each student honoree names an elementary or secondary teacher who most influenced him or her to attend college. Teacher honorees receive a $500 professional development award. Miss Swope has selected Rebecca L. Moss, a teacher at Wawasee High School in Syracuse, Indiana (219-457-3147).

Also attending are parents of student honorees; college presidents; campus coordinators of "Realizing the Dream"; representatives of Lilly Endowment, and others. Noted Hoosier educator Robert E. Martin will deliver the keynote address. Himself a first-generation college graduate, Dr. Martin began his career in education in 1949 as an elementary school teacher and principal in Peru, then North Vernon and Mitchell, Indiana. Other posts have included service with the Indiana Department of Public Instruction (now Department of Education), Indiana Vocational Technical College (now Ivy Tech State College), and the Indiana Chamber of Commerce.

Dr. Martin served many years as president of Independent Colleges and Universities of Indiana (now Independent Colleges of Indiana) and the ICUI Foundation, followed by seven years as co-executive secretary of the Indiana Conference of Higher Education. He was creator and first executive director of the Indiana Educational Facilities Authority. Dr. Martin has received many awards, including recognition as a Sagamore of the Wabash by governors Bayh, Orr and Bowen.

Background Since 1989, "Realizing the Dream" has honored high-achieving first-generation students from independent colleges and universities in Indiana, and the elementary or high school teachers who have inspired them. The program was conceived and developed by three former first-generation college students: William C. Bonifield, William DuBois, Jr, and Louis C. Gatto. "Realizing the Dream" is funded by Lilly Endowment Inc. and administered by the Indiana Conference on Higher Education.

Student honorees are Indiana high school graduates who subsequently demonstrated superior academic performance during their freshman year and exhibited leadership in campus or community activities.

Dr. Louis C. Gatto, director of the program, praised the accomplishments of those previously honored by "Realizing the Dream." According to Dr. Gatto, "Of the students honored in 1989, 1990, 1991 and 1992, about 90 percent completed degrees within four years, more than double the statewide rate for public and private institutions. These students are indeed achieving their dreams, and first-rate higher education has helped make that possible." Gatto is a former president of Marian College in Indianapolis, and serves as executive director of the Indiana Educational Facilities Authority. Realizing the Dream *

1996 Honorees
(Institution Student * Teacher)

Ancilla College
Monica L. Roberts * Nancy Glaub

Anderson University
Kevin D. McDonough * Lance Patterson

Bethel College
Nicole R. Barnard * John A. Anderson

Butler University
Nikola Ivankovic * Penny Tokoly

Calumet College of Saint Joseph
Beatrice J. Willis * Bernadine Hall

DePauw University
Tiffany N. Gray * Joanne Leffler

Earlham College
Tamika R. Bynum * Jackie Schlichte

Franklin College of Indiana
Brooke A. Wagoner * Jerald T. Eiler

Goshen College
Monroe L.Yoder * Rev. Lawrence Byrnes

Grace College and Seminary
Sara L. Leatherman * Cathy Knopp

Hanover College
Frank A. Baden * James J. Zoch

Holy Cross College
Melissa D. Wiegand * (none nominated)

Huntington College Brandy L. Swope * Rebecca L. Moss

Indiana Institute of Technology
Krista M. Pieper * Edward Masloob

Indiana Wesleyan University
Danielle Schrock * Joyce Lantz

Manchester College
Molly B. Woodhouse * John Pokorney

Marian College
Jessica D. Stockton * Christina McCarter

Martin University
Susan E. Young * William Malone

Oakland City University
Kellye L. Greenwell * Michelle P. Eykamp

Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
Kimberly S. Hayden * Diane Flint

Saint Francis College
Jana L. Mozzone * Carl Loesch

Saint Joseph's College
Toni J. Szerencse * Jane Duell

Saint Mary's College
Melony M. Smith * Marsha K. Bass

Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College
Crystal D. Powers * Allen Kramer

Saint Meinrad College
Keith A. Fritz * Jackie Wright

Taylor University
Kristi A. McGriff * Hobart E. Schact Jr.

Tri-State University
Erica D. Ruth * Karen Doan

University of Evansville
Jeffrey E. Sampson * Jerry

Hoover University of Indianapolis
Toni M. Cole * Glen Schmucker

University of Notre Dame Ann Searle * John A. Anderson

Valparaiso University
Rachel L. Gretencord * Vickie Pearl

Wabash College
Gary J. Campbell * Dallas Osting

# # #


Heather Barkley
Director of Communications
Joanne Green
Sports Information Director